中藥的藥材來源天然,古代稱作「本草」。藥材經過「炮製」處理後,依照需求不同精製成適合的劑型。

古人生病時,會採集大自然的素材,多方嘗試治療的方法後,將經驗歸納起來,記載並且流傳至後世。中國在歷經幾千年的沿革,中間不斷有各個名家去考據研究,去蕪存精之下,流傳到現在藥材已有上千種,分類上大約可分為以下幾種:

  1. 植物類─植物是比重最多的藥材,全株上下都有可能當藥,有時同一株植物的部位或加工處理的方式不同,就會被分為不同的藥材,前者有麻黃的根與莖,後者則有熟地黃與生地黃。
  2. 動物類─動物類的話骨頭、動物的角、昆蟲等等都能入藥。由於近代重視動物保育,許多動物藥不是禁用或是找其他藥材代替了。
  3. 礦物類─原料是天然形成的無機礦物與岩石,可以直接藥用或是加工後使用,石膏、雄黃算是最廣為人知的礦物藥。

除了原料的來源以外,中藥還能以藥性、味道、效能來分類,藥性是指藥分成寒、良、溫、熱屬性;味道則有酸、苦、甘、辛、鹹,效能則是看療效是作用於哪個臟腑,中醫師依照病症的不同,依照藥方選擇適合的藥材「炮製」加工,搭配成複方才能製作成藥。

中醫還講求食藥同源,許多日常吃的食材其實也能當中藥材使用,比如蜂蜜、綠豆等等,中藥中醫其實已經融入我們的生活之中。

Join SP Rewards

100 points just for joining our FREE awards program.

The herbs in Chinese medicine are of natural origin and were known in ancient times as "materia medica". The herbs are "concocted" and refined into the appropriate dosage form according to the requirements.

When the ancients were sick, they collected materials from nature and tried various treatment methods, then summarized the experience, recorded it and passed it on. The Chinese herbal medicine has been passed down to the next generation. Throughout the thousands of years of Chinese history, there have been many famous scholars who have conducted research on Chinese medicinal herbs, and under the process of eliminating the impurities, the herbs have been passed down to the present day. There are thousands of them and they can be classified into approximately the following categories.

  1. Plants – Plants are the most important medicinal materials, and the whole plant can be used as medicine. Different forms of herbs are classified into different types, the former having roots and stems of ephedra, and the latter having ripe and raw rehmannia.
  2. Animal species – animal bones, animal horns, insects, etc. can all be used in medicine. Due to the recent emphasis on animal conservation, many animal medicines have either been banned or replaced by other herbs.
  3. Minerals – The raw materials are naturally occurring inorganic minerals and rocks, which can be used directly or processed for medicinal purposes, such as gypsum and rhubarb. The most widely known mineral medicine.

In addition to the source of raw materials, Chinese medicines can also be categorized by their medicinal properties, taste and efficacy. The flavor is sour, bitter, sweet, pungent, salty, and the efficacy depends on which organs the treatment is effected, according to the different diseases of Chinese medicine. According to the prescription, suitable herbs can be selected and processed into a compound formula to make medicine.

In fact, many daily food ingredients can also be used in Chinese medicine, such as honey, green beans, and so on. In fact, medicine has already been integrated into our lives.

Join SP Rewards

100 points just for joining our FREE awards program.